Suicide Prevention Program

Supporting Safety-Creating Hope

The Canvas Health Suicide Prevention Program provides services to the Dakota Communities and 57 counties in Minnesota. Services include research and evidence based culturally responsive presentations as well as Question, Persuade and Refer (QPR) suicide prevention trainings. Additionally, the program offers collaboration activities with community-based suicide prevention efforts through our Regional Coordinators and Tribal Liaison.

Our school presentations are available for students in grades 7-12, and QPR trainings for those 18 and over. Our aim is to support empowering everyone in the communities we serve to help prevent suicide.

Presentations are free of charge and funded by the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

If you are in crisis, text MN to 741741 to be connected to Crisis Text Line. To download Crisis Text Line marketing materials from DHS’s website, click here.

Please contact the Regional Coordinator and Tribal Liaison that serves your area to schedule a presentation or training. Download a printable map here.

Program Supervisor: Rosemary White Shield, PhD, CTTS, CCW; RWhiteShield@hsicrisis.org; (612) 767-2846

Central Region: Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, Wright, and St. Cloud State University
Regional Coordinator: Ashley Nieland, anieland@cmmhc.com
Central Minnesota Mental Health Center

Dakota Region: Four Dakota Communities
Scott, Dakota, and Goodhue counties
Tribal Liaison/Regional Coordinator: Adam Preuss, apreuss@hsicrisis.org
Canvas Health

East Metro Region: Ramsey, Anoka, and Washington
Regional Coordinator: Stephanie Badowicz, sbadowicz@canvashealth.org
Canvas Health

Hennepin County Region: Hennepin
Regional Coordinator: Shari Langseth, slangseth@canvashealth.org
Canvas Health

South Central Region: McLeod, Carver, Sibley, Nicollet, Blue Earth, Le Sueur, Fairbault, Martin, Watonwan, and Brown
Regional Coordinator: Laura Gaffer, lgaffer@counseling-services.org
Counseling Services of Southern Minnesota

Southwest Region: Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, and Murray
Regional Coordinator: Tami Dorenkamper, TDorenkamper@wmhcinc.org
Western Mental Health Center

Southwest Corner Region: Pipestone, Rock, Nobles, Jackson,
and Cottonwood
Regional Coordinator: Shay VonHoltum, shay.vonholtum@swmhc.org
Southwestern Mental Health Center

Upper Western Region: Clay, Wilkin, Otter Tail, Traverse, Grant, Douglas, Stevens, and Pope
Regional Coordinator: Maria Willits, willits4shatterthesilence@gmail.com
Productive Alternatives, Inc.

West Central Region: Lac qui Parle, Swift, Chippewa, Big Stone, Kandiyohi, Meeker, and Renville
Regional Coordinator: Beth Storm, beth.storm@wcenters.org
Woodland Centers

Zumbro Valley Region: Rice, Wabasha, Waseca, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Mower, Fillmore, Blue Earth and Houston
Regional Coordinator: Joshua Jensen, joshua.jensen@zvhc.org
Zumbro Valley Health Center