Suicide Prevention Program

Supporting Safety-Creating Hope

The Canvas Health Suicide Prevention Program provides services to the Dakota Communities and 57 counties in Minnesota. Services include research and evidence based culturally responsive presentations as well as Question, Persuade and Refer (QPR) suicide prevention trainings. Additionally, the program offers collaboration activities with community-based suicide prevention efforts through our Regional Coordinators and Tribal Liaison.

Our school presentations are available for students in grades 7-12, and QPR trainings for those 18 and over. Our aim is to support empowering everyone in the communities we serve to help prevent suicide.

Click here to view our presentation video.

Presentations are free of charge and funded by the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

If you are in crisis, text MN to 741741 to be connected to Crisis Text Line. To download Crisis Text Line marketing materials from DHS’s website, click here.

Please contact the Regional Coordinator and Tribal Liaison that serves your area to schedule a presentation or training.

map of minnesota suicide prevention program

Program Supervisor: Stephanie Hamlin, MPH;

Central Region: Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, Wright
Regional Coordinator: Haylee Hawke,
Canvas Health

Dakota Region: Four Dakota Communities
Scott, Dakota, and Goodhue counties
Tribal Liaison/Regional Coordinator: Adam Preuss,
Canvas Health

East Metro Region: Ramsey, Anoka, and Washington
Regional Coordinator: Alyssa Peterson,
Canvas Health

Hennepin County Region: Hennepin
Regional Coordinator: Haylee Hawke,
Canvas Health

South Central Region: McLeod, Carver, Sibley, Nicollet, Blue
Earth, Le Sueur, Fairbault, Martin, Rice, Freeborn, Watonwan,
and Brown
Regional Coordinator: Laura Gaffer,
Counseling Services of Southern Minnesota

Southwest Region: Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Murray, Pipestone, Rock, Nobles, Jackson, and Cottonwood
Regional Coordinators: Leah Anthony,
Kayla Carter;
Western Mental Health Center

Upper Western Region: Clay, Wilkin, Otter Tail, Traverse, Grant, Douglas, Stevens, and Pope
Regional Coordinator: Trevor Undseth;
Lakeland Mental Health Center

West Central Region: Lac qui Parle, Swift, Chippewa, Big Stone, Kandiyohi, Meeker, and Renville
Regional Coordinator: Adam Preuss,

Zumbro Valley Region: Wabasha, Waseca, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Mower, Fillmore, and Houston
Regional Coordinator: Joshua Jensen,
Zumbro Valley Health Center